Upcoming Release Alert: Daphni "JIAOLONG"

Caribou’s Dan Snaith will be releasing his debut album “JIAOLONG” under the moniker “Daphni” on Merge Records on October 16th. In a press release he states that he made this album from a DJ’s perspective, more spontaneous and rough than Caribou’s compositions. It is supposed to be the smarter kind of dance music. From Stereogum comes the information that Merge deleted the following quote on revision from the press release: “Set against the backdrop of bland and functional dance music and the mind-numbing predictability of the EDM barfsplosion currently gripping the corporate ravesters, there is a small world where dance music lives up to its potential to liberate, surprise, and innovate.”

Some of the tracks on JIAOLONG were previously released, like “Ye Ye”, above, on a split with Four Tet. Three of the tracks made up last year’s first EP on Snaith’s own label, called JIAOLONG too. But there are new tracks too, so I am intrigued if Snaith will deliver something as close to perfect as he did with Caribou.

1. Yes, I Know
2. Cos-Ber-Zam – Ne Noya (Daphni Mix)
3. Ye Ye
4. Light
5. Pairs
6. Ahora
7. Jiao
8. Springs
9. Long


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s